Get Off My Lawn

I can't tell if he's laughing or crying.

A Friend in Need

Every time I think I have a handle on consistent posting, I encounter an unexpected event that requires time and attention.

A dear friend of mine, Bailey, became very ill with a lung infection and a variety of other ailments that required him to be hospitalized. The last four weeks I have spent pretty much all day, every day, and a good chunk of the evening, at Bailey’s bedside.

Bailey has Down Syndrome, is a brittle diabetic, and is in the beginning stages of Alzheimer’s. I’ve known him for 17 years and he is my dearest friend. It has been a tough few weeks and things were pretty dire for a while but it now seems he has turned a corner and will recover.

For the next little while I will be posting about my experience of this odyssey, the ups and downs, the humorous and the tragic, the characters we have met, the doctors nurses and technicians, and how I’ve grown and matured through this experience.

I do apologize for this unexpected hiatus but I know every person who reads this blog will understand. And I thank you for that.

To be continued.

 

Categories: Non-Fiction, Personal

Tags: , ,

43 replies

  1. You’re a good friend. Hope all goes well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alzheimer’s as well? Good grief. As Cordeliasmom said above, you’re a good friend. It is at such times that word “friendship” is seen to be truly priceless.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I remind my patients every day that we do not know what will happen tomorrow so all we can do is make this moment the best moment possible…I’m glad Bailey is doing better now…I look forward to your posts…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad he seems to be turning the corner. Sending love to both of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Such a caring person… so glad to hear he seems to be doing better…. hope the healing continues!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sorry to hear about your friend. I look forward to reading about your experiences. You have a gift for capturing the emotions behind events like these.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. He is more than a friend – he is family. You are a kind soul John.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m sure he appreciates what a great friend you are John, and that you stuck by him when he needed support. Take care of yourself as well, we’ll all be here when you have the time and energy to share.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I wondered why you had stopped blogging but that is a wonderful gift of kindness that you have given your friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Yes we understand. Glad your friend is doing better. He’s blessed have you. Hope you get a little rest to replenish yourself as well. 🌷

    Liked by 1 person

  11. We should all have the kind of friend with your level of devotion, John. Take care. 💕 Best wishes for your friend.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. I’m glad he’s showing some improvement and hope that continues. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  13. You are an awesome man, John.
    How are you working?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh. He is in care for the organization I work for. My real job is working in a group home for handicapped adults. Anyway, the place I work is beyond awesome and generous, and they have completely cleared my schedule and are paying me my full salary and then some. But if that wasn’t the case I’d just take holidays.

      Liked by 3 people

  14. Bailey is truly blessed to have you and so is the organization you work for I’m positive they continue to appreciate you and all that you do 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  15. This made me think of Anne LaMott’s recalling what a nurse told her on a visit to a friend with cancer: (paraphrasing) pay attention to her, she’s teaching you how to live. … Wishing you and your friend the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. What a poignant story, made all the more so because he’s on the road to recovery. I look forward to your upcoming posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Glad you have each other.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Speedy recovery to Bailey! Take your time. Looking forward to your new posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I’m so sorry about your friend, hope he recovers quickly!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment